BY-LAW NO. 3

By-Law Relating to the Newspaper.

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the members of the Students' Association of the Algonquin College of Applied Arts and Technology Corporation accept a By-Law relating to the transaction of the affairs at the Students' Association of the Algonquin College of Applied Arts and Technology Corporation which was accepted at a meeting of its Directors on November 29, 1984.

BE IT ENACTED as By-Law No. 3 of the Students' Association of the Algonquin College of Applied Arts and Technology Corporation (hereinafter called the Corporation) that:

- a. In the operation of any newspaper which is funded or falls under the onus of the Corporation, the Board of Directors retain the right to hire and/or terminate the position of editor, at their discretion, providing they follow the rules and regulations of the employment standards legislation and applicable law.
- b. The editor is the only individual responsible for the editing/censoring of the newspaper. However, the Board of Directors, in their role as publisher, may appoint a designate to read the final copy of the newspaper to ensure that the rules and regulations concerning the libel and slander laws of Canada are followed. If the designate finds something that may be libellous or slanderous, he/she may advise the editor to seek legal advice from the counsel of his/her choice regarding the statement(s) in question. The editor must then seek out that advice and return his/her findings to the Board of Directors or its designate as soon as possible. If the advice states that the items in questions are libellous and/or slanderous, and suggests that they be removed, they will be.
- c. The Board of Directors and its designate(s) are the sole publisher of the newspaper and will retain complete financial control over the funding of the newspaper at all times, provided such financial control shall not, directly or indirectly, be used in any manner to influence editorial direction or freedom.

| WITNESS the seal of the Corporation | | |
|-------------------------------------|-----------|--|
| | | |
| President | Secretary | |

Ratified by the Members of the Corporation the 30th day of October 1985.